Click to Home
Go To Search
Energy Efficiency Advisory Committee
The Energy Efficiency Committee (KEEC) started in November 2006 with a mission to “promote ways for the government and residents of Kennebunk to reduce fossil fuel use, resulting in lower energy bills and greater use of sustainable energy sources.” In 2014 KEEC and the Street Light Committee (KSLC) were merged. Part of the merged committee’s mission is to assist Kennebunk in meeting its goals as a signatory to the U.S. Mayor’s Climate Protection Agreement. The Board of Selectmen signed the agreement in 2007, in which local governments pledge to reduce carbon dioxide emissions, and re-signed in 2015. In 2016 an updated town energy audit is being done to measure progress and discover how the Town could improve its own energy use.

The committee has sponsored guest speakers including University of Maine faculty, offered workshops on energy efficiency for homes and businesses, worked with local businesses to distribute free curbside single-stream recycling bins, promoted a townwide curbside compost collection system, pursued the elimination of throw-away plastic shopping bags, distributed reusable bags for residents and local businesses to use instead and spoken with state legislators about policies to promote energy efficiency and savings on energy bills.

We would like to hear from you
Committee members would like to hear from residents about the things they think the Town of Kennebunk or the State of Maine could do environmentally and/or local environmental topics in which they are interested. 

Ban on Single Use Plastic Carry Out Bags
On June 14, 2016, Kennebunk residents voted in favor of an ordinance banning single-use plastic carry out bags. This ban takes effect on October 14, 2016. As of that date “No single-use plastic carry-out bag shall be distributed, either with or without charge, to a Customer, at any Retail Establishment located in the Town of Kennebunk.”  More information on this issue can be found on the left tab.

  • Sharon Staz, Chair
  • Dennis Andersen, Vice Chair
  • Anthony W. Dater, Sec               
  • David Slyter
  • Scott Negley
  • Michael Wentworth                 
  • Andrea Kimmich
  • vacancy
  • vacancy
  • Todd Shea, Kennebunk Light & Power District Representative
  • Daniel Boothby, Selectman Liaison

  • 5:30 pm
  • Second Wednesday
  • Town Hall
    1 Summer St.
    Third Floor
    Kennebunk, ME 04043

Agendas & Minutes
Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval. 
Most Recent AgendaView All Energy Efficiency Comm. Agendas and Minutes 

View All previous Street Light Committee Agendas and Minutes

View Annual Town Reports

Join a Committee
Are you interested in joining this or another town committee?

Forms can also be picked up at the Town Manager's Office and in the Town Office lobby at:
1 Summer St.
Kennebunk, ME 04043