Click to Home
Go To Search
Dog Licenses
Licensing and Requirements

Dog licenses are available in the Town Clerk’s Office starting in the middle of November for the next licensing year.

Per Maine State Law:
  • All dogs 6 months of age and older must be licensed every year by January 31st
  • Starting on February 1st a $ 25.00 late fee will be added to the cost of the dog license for each dog you license after the January 31st deadline
  • A current State of Maine Rabies Certificate, obtained from a veterinarian, must be provided at the time of licensing or be on file with the Town Clerk, from a prior year, before a dog can be licensed.

Boston James at Kennebunk Beach
Boston James enjoying Kennebunk Beach
Dogs may be licensed in one of three ways: In person, online or via mail. When licensing through the mail, please include a brief note with your name and address, telephone number, and the dog’s name and send a copy of the rabies and spay/neutering certificates with a check for the appropriate fee(s) made out to the Town of Kennebunk. We will process the license and mail you the dog tag.  

Lost Dog
If you have lost your dog, assistance can be found on the The Animal Welfare Society’s website.

Animal Control
Information regarding Animal Control and how to reach the Animal Control Officer can be found here.







Merton Brown
Merton Brown

Town Clerk
Email
Ph: (207) 985-2102 ext.1326

Town Clerk's Office
1 Summer St.
Kennebunk, ME 04043

Location:
Second Floor
Fax: (207) 985-4609

Hours
Monday - Friday
8:00 am - 4:30 pm