Energy Efficiency Advisory Committee

The Energy Efficiency Committee was formed in November of  2006 with a mission to “promote ways for the government and residents of Kennebunk to reduce fossil fuel use, resulting in lower energy bills and greater use of sustainable energy sources.”

In 2014, the Energy Efficiency Committee and the Street Light Committee merged. Part of the merged committee’s mission is to assist Kennebunk in meeting its goals as a signatory to the U.S. Mayor’s Climate Protection Agreement. The Board of Selectmen signed the agreement in 2007, in which local governments pledge to reduce carbon dioxide emissions, and re-signed this pledge again in 2015. In 2016 an updated town energy audit was completed which will measure progress and discover how the Town can improve its own energy use.

The committee has sponsored guest speakers including University of Maine faculty, offered workshops on energy efficiency for homes and businesses, worked with local businesses to distribute free curbside single-stream recycling bins, promoted a townwide curbside compost collection system, pursued the elimination of throw-away plastic shopping bags, distributed reusable bags for residents and local businesses to use instead and spoken with state legislators about policies to promote energy efficiency and savings on energy bills. 

The Street Light Committee merged with the Energy Efficiency Advisory Committee on September 23, 2014.  Street Light information can be found on the left side of this page.
The Energy Efficiency Advisory Committee meets on the 2nd and 4th Wednesday of each month at 6:30 p.m. on the 3rd floor of Town Hall. All meetings are posted in Town Hall and on the Meeting Calendar.

Committee Members

Title Term Expires
Sharon Staz Chair 2021
Anthony Dater Secretary 2023
Margaret Bartenhagen Member 2021
Nicholas Bartenhagen Member 2022
Scott Negley Member 2022
Thomas Rist Member 2021
Joseph Wolfson Member 2021
Vacant Member 2021
Vacant Member 2023
Vacant Youth Member 2021
Todd Shea Kennebunk Light & Power District Rep. Ex-Officio
Edward Karytko Select Board Liaison  

Join a Committee

  1. Do you want to volunteer for the Town and serve on a board or committee? Complete an application online or submit your paper application (PDF) to the Town Manager's office.
    View a listing of all committees