Marriage Intentions / Marriage License
Where do I apply for a marriage license?
- Maine residents must apply in the town where they reside. The license is valid in any community in Maine for 90 days from the date the Intentions are filed. Couples who maintain separate Maine residences, must apply in the community in which at least one of them resides.
- If one of the parties is a Maine resident, and the other resides out of state, both parties apply in the town of residence of the Maine resident. The license is valid in any community in Maine for 90 days from the date the Intentions are filed.
- Out of state residents may apply in any municipal office.
- The marriage license is valid for 90 days from the date the Intentions are filed and is valid anywhere within the State of Maine.
- The Town Clerk's Office processes marriage licenses 8AM - 3:00PM Monday through Friday.
How do I apply for a marriage license?
Step 1 - Intentions of Marriage
The parties must complete the Intention of Marriage Forms. The Intentions include a signed certification that the information provided is correct and that the applicant is free to marry according to the laws of this State the signatures must be witnessed by the Clerk's Office Staff or if submitting the application by mail, notarized signatures are required. The Intention of Marriage application is a legal document. You are responsible and liable for providing the information and documentation required. The paperwork must be completed and notarized (if applicable) in BLACK INK ONLY. Forms completed in any other color will not be accepted for filing.
Step 2 - Previous Marriage(s)
If either party has been previously married, a certified copy of the death certificate or divorce decree of the last marriage must be submitted to the Town Clerk at the time of filing of the Marriage Intentions. Certified means that the documents are affixed with a raised or gold seal and/or contain original signatures. A record of divorce, if not in English, must be translated into English by a disinterested 3rd person at the parties' expense.
Step 3 - Filing Fee
The filing fee is $40.00. Cash and checks are accepted for payment. Credit/debit cards are also accepted but there is an additional service charge applied.
Step 4 - Completion of Paperwork
The completed Intention of Marriage Forms, divorce/death decree (if applicable), filing fee must be brought to the Town Clerk's office no more than 90 days before the ceremony. Both parties must appear in person to sign the marriage license.
Within 7 days after the ceremony, the Officiate must return the completed license to the Clerk's Office to be filed by the Clerk. Certified Marriage Certificates can be picked up for a fee of $15 for the first and $6 for each additional copy when purchased at the same time once the completed license has been filed.
Merton BrownTown ClerkPhone: (207) 985-2102 ext. 1326
Carrie WeemanDeputy Town ClerkPhone: (207) 985-2102 ext. 1306
Tabetha BardenAssistant Town ClerkPhone: (207) 985-2102 ext. 1318
Kennebunk Town Hall, Second Floor
1 Summer St.
Kennebunk, ME 04043
Phone: (207) 985-2102 ext. 1326Fax: (207) 985-4609